GW Games
    -WH 40K3
    -Index Adventure

  Star Wars

codex-addendum-logo.jpg (9131 bytes)

[Being a collection of additional rules for Warhammer 40,000]


by Erik Setzer

This article is an addition to the basic Warhammer 40,000 rules.  It introduces an advanced system of using psychic powers, and includes both new rules for using psychic powers and new rules for the various psykers present in the game.  This system is based on a number of prior sources, as well as having some new rules.  It is completely unofficial.



In the Warhammer 40,000 game a model that is able to use psychic powers is commonly referred to as a psyker.  Some races and armies use different terms, such as Weirdboy, Warlock, or Magus, but all of these and others are considered to be types of psykers.  Their use in the game is followed by the rules described on the following pages.

No two psykers in the Warhammer 40,000 universe are identical in power or knowledge, but in the game psykers are divided into four degrees of ability called levels. The higher a psyker's level is, the more powerful he is.  A psyker's level determines the number of powers he may have, the number he can use in a turn, his psychic points, and more.

Psychic Powers

Every psyker is allowed a number of powers based on his psychic level, both major and minor powers. The number of psychic powers per level allowed is listed below:

Level Major Powers Minor Powers
1 1 2
2 2 3
3 3 4
4 4 5


Using Psychic Powers

Each psykers begins play with a number of psychic points depending on his level. These points are used up when using major powers. The number of points used by a major power is listed beside the power. Minor powers use no psychic points. Points are restored the maximum at the beginning of each turn.

Level Psychic Points
1 2
2 3
3 5
4 7

Each psychic power requires the psyker to pass a Ld test in order to use it. If the roll is a 2 or a 12, he is affected by the Perils of the Warp (pg., 40K rulebook). If the test is passed, the psyker is successful and his power takes effect (even on a roll of a 2, regardless of the psyker's fate), and the psychic points required to use the power are lost. If the test is not passed, then the power has no effect and the psychic points are still lost.

Psykers can also attempt to nullify a power being used by an opposing psyker. In order to do so, they must pass a Ld, with a negative modifier equal to the opposing pskyer's level and half of the psychic points required to use the power that is being nullfied.

Some psychic powers do not require a Ld test to use. These powers cannot be nullified. Other powers remain in play until the psyker who used them is killed or revokes the power, or the power itself is nullified by an opposing psyker.

A psyker may only attempt to use and/or nullify a certain number of powers per turn. The following chart lists the number of powers a psyker can attempt to use and nullify each turn, based on his psychic level.

Level Major Powers Minor Powers Nullify
1 1 1 1
2 1 2 1
3 2 3 2
4 3 4 2

Psykers may only attempt to use one psychic power per phase, whether the power is major or minor.